Help please -- Model of the capacitance and dielectric

In summary, the conversation is about a new member of a physics forum seeking help for a project on capacitance and dielectric. The group is unsure of what project to do with only the name of "Model of the capacitance and dielectric." The suggestion is to start by researching and reading about capacitance, capacitors, and dielectrics to gain a better understanding of the topic. The new member asks for specific help and ideas from other forum members.
Jasonlwe
Hi everyone, I'm new in physics forum and this is my first post. So basically, our lecturer grouped us and gave each group a project to carry out. And the only information that we got is the name ( The one we got is "Model of the capacitance and dielectric" ).

With only this information, me and my group doesn't really know what project to do. Please, someone help give some ideas and shed some light for our path. :L

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF, Jason.

(Since this thread is about schoolwork, I've moved it to the Homework Help section of the PF.)

Start by reading about capacitance and capacitors, and then do some reading about dielectrics and how they change the characteristics of a capacitor (versus a capacitor that just has air between the parallel plates). You can use Wikipedia for a start, and then use Google or your textbooks for more information. If you have a specific question about your reading, please link to it here and ask your question. :-)

Anyone? Any ideas?

1. What is capacitance?

Capacitance is the ability of a material or system to store electrical charge. It is measured in units of Farads (F) and is determined by the geometry and materials used in a system.

2. What is dielectric?

A dielectric is an insulating material that is placed between two conducting plates in a capacitor to increase its capacitance. It helps to prevent the flow of current between the plates and allows for more charge to be stored.