1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with 2nd order differential equations needed

1. Jan 27, 2006 #1
    I have come across the following question when revising for my upcoming exam, and wondered if anyone wouldn't mind giving me a hand and some hints as how to solve it.

So far I have:

[tex]F_{m} - k\frac{ds}{dt} = m\frac{d^2s}{dt^2}[/tex]

And now I'm stuck as to the solution of the equation, as its a 2nd order non-homogenous differential equation, but doesn't have a term in s. Is this a problem when solving this, or do I just put it =0?

Any hints would be appreciated!

Apologies if the symbols don't come out as anticipated. Its my first time using them!
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2006 #2

Homework Helper

Make the substitution,

[tex]v(t)=\frac{ds}{dt}\mbox{ so that }\frac{dv}{dt}=\frac{d^2s}{dt^2}[/tex]

and the DE becomes a first order, namely

[tex]F_{m} - kv = m\frac{dv}{dt},[/tex]

that you can solve. Once you have a solution for v, plug it into [tex]v(t)=\frac{ds}{dt},[/tex] and that'll give you the solution to the given DE. Note that we didn't turn a second order DE into a first order DE, but rather a system of 2 first order DEs.
  4. Jan 27, 2006 #3
    That thought had occured to me, however the answer I got for v made no sense.

I ended up with the following processes:

[tex]f_{m} - kv = m\frac{dv}{dt}[/tex]
    [tex]\int dt = m\int\frac{dv}{F_{m} - kv}[/tex]
    [tex]t=\frac{-m}{k} \ln(F_{m} - kv) + c[/tex]

which I then rearranged to make v the subject. However I don't think that this is correct way to do this is it? I think I probably used the wrong technique when integrating?
  5. Jan 27, 2006 #4

Homework Helper

Here it goes...

Rearrange the DE to be

[tex]\frac{dv}{dt}+\frac{k}{m}v =\frac{f_{m}}{m} [/tex]