Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Help with 2nd order differential equations needed

1. Jan 27, 2006 #1
    I have come across the following question when revising for my upcoming exam, and wondered if anyone wouldn't mind giving me a hand and some hints as how to solve it.

So far I have:

[tex]F_{m} - k\frac{ds}{dt} = m\frac{d^2s}{dt^2}[/tex]

And now I'm stuck as to the solution of the equation, as its a 2nd order non-homogenous differential equation, but doesn't have a term in s. Is this a problem when solving this, or do I just put it =0?

Any hints would be appreciated!

Apologies if the symbols don't come out as anticipated. Its my first time using them!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2006 #2

benorin

Homework Helper

Make the substitution,

[tex]v(t)=\frac{ds}{dt}\mbox{ so that }\frac{dv}{dt}=\frac{d^2s}{dt^2}[/tex]

and the DE becomes a first order, namely

[tex]F_{m} - kv = m\frac{dv}{dt},[/tex]

that you can solve. Once you have a solution for v, plug it into [tex]v(t)=\frac{ds}{dt},[/tex] and that'll give you the solution to the given DE. Note that we didn't turn a second order DE into a first order DE, but rather a system of 2 first order DEs.

4. Jan 27, 2006 #3
    That thought had occured to me, however the answer I got for v made no sense.

I ended up with the following processes:

[tex]f_{m} - kv = m\frac{dv}{dt}[/tex]
    [tex]\int dt = m\int\frac{dv}{F_{m} - kv}[/tex]
    [tex]t=\frac{-m}{k} \ln(F_{m} - kv) + c[/tex]

which I then rearranged to make v the subject. However I don't think that this is correct way to do this is it? I think I probably used the wrong technique when integrating?

5. Jan 27, 2006 #4

benorin

Homework Helper

Here it goes...

Rearrange the DE to be

[tex]\frac{dv}{dt}+\frac{k}{m}v =\frac{f_{m}}{m} [/tex]

Then the associated homogeneous equation is

[tex]\frac{dv}{dt}+\frac{k}{m}v =0,[/tex]