1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with physical understanding of AC signal

1. Jun 26, 2010 #1
    My understanding of how AC current works is that the current changes direction, so essentially the charges are oscillating back and forth along the direction of the cable. Then since accelerating charges radiate, this produces an EM wave which is what carries the energy. But my problem is, from my understanding of how and why accelerating charges radiate, they do not produce a transverse EM wave along the direction they are oscillating. So how is it that the charge oscillates in the same direction that the energy flows during the propogation of an AC signal?

I apologize if my thinking is simplistic on this. I am not an expert in either electronics or Maxwell's equations.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2010 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor

You are right that the oscillating charges in a power line generate an EM wave that propagates perpendicular to the wire. This energy leaves the power line and represents a loss of the power in the line. However, because the frequency of oscillation is very low, this power is very small compared to the power transmitted by the line. The power carried by the line is not carried by an EM wave, but by the moving charges themselves.

4. Jun 27, 2010 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Energy is NOT carried by the individual electrons in AC, at least not by an electron going from the source of the current to the use of the energy.