Learning Rounding & Estimation with Front End Math

• Thread starter Gamma
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Estimation
My advice is to not overthink it.In summary, the conversation is about someone seeking help with understanding rounding and front-end rounding in particular. They are also asking for help with estimating multiplication and division using front-end rounding, as well as arranging numbers in ascending order while considering significant figures. The expert advises using the first digit of each number for front-end rounding and explains that significant figures do not apply to integer numbers.
Gamma
I am new to this type of math. I need help....

Can anyone point to me to a good website where I can learn about rounding and stuff.

Here is another one I am struggling with. I looked in the internet could not find one that really explains it well

How to estimated 3.9 * 7.4 using front end rounding?

How to estimated 33.294/6.2, again using front end rounding?

Arrange in assending order the following: 0.321,0.302,8/25

This one look straight forward as 8/25 = 0.32 --> 0.302, 8/25, 0.321
But if I am mindful about sig figures 8/25 = 0.3 and my assending order becomes, 8/25,0.302, 0.321.

Any help or hint is much appreciated.

Thanks,

gamma.

Physics news on Phys.org
Gamma said:
I am new to this type of math. I need help....

Can anyone point to me to a good website where I can learn about rounding and stuff.

Here is another one I am struggling with. I looked in the internet could not find one that really explains it well

How to estimated 3.9 * 7.4 using front end rounding?

I doubt you need a whole website for that! "Front end rounding" just means round to the nearest one digit number. Since 3.9 is closer to 4 than to 3 (since 9> 5) it rounds to 4. 7.4 rounds to 7. What is 4*7?

How to estimated 33.294/6.2, again using front end rounding?

Same idea. 33.294 rounds to 30, 6.2 to 6. What is 30/6?

Arrange in assending order the following: 0.321,0.302,8/25