How can I prove derivative of cross vectors

As far as this being available in standard math texts, I think it is probably only available in a text on tensor analysis, not a standard calculus text. I don't know, maybe it is in a table of integrals or something...In summary, the conversation is about a student who is trying to prove the product rule for two dependent vectors as a homework question. Another student provides helpful hints and explains the use of the Levi-Civita tensor and the summation convention in solving the problem. The conversation also discusses the use of the calculus definition of derivative to solve the problem.
esradw
Hello,

I am new here and I am very happy to find a webpage like this.
It has been 6 years sice I graduated from Physics and I haven't dealt with derivatives of vectors for a long time. Recently I have been accepted for the master degree and trying to built my memory again.

My homework quetion is that prove the product rule for two dependent vectors is

d/dt ( r X u ) = r X du/dt + dr/dt X u

I desperatly need help , I just can't remember. thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
You will want to start distributing.

Major Clue:

u [tex] (t) = < f_1(t),f_2(t),f_3(t)> [/tex]

v [tex](t) = < g_1(t),g_2(t),g_3(t)> [/tex]

This should be in any standard math text as a formal proof already done for you. Or available online.

Last edited:
Thank you very much, it was a little but powerfull hint for me that helped me solve the problem :)

Assuming the basis vectors are constant in time, then writing

[tex]\frac{d}{dt}\left(\epsilon_{ijk}r_{i}u_{j}\vec{e}_{k}\right) [/tex]

and expanding using the Leibniz rule will lead you to the result...

Daniel.