1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How can I prove derivative of cross vectors

1. Jan 11, 2006 #1

I am new here and I am very happy to find a webpage like this.
    It has been 6 years sice I graduated from Physics and I havent dealt with derivatives of vectors for a long time. Recently I have been accepted for the master degree and trying to built my memory again.

My homework quetion is that prove the product rule for two dependent vectors is

d/dt ( r X u ) = r X du/dt + dr/dt X u

I desperatly need help , I just cant remember. thanks
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2006 #2
    You will want to start distributing.

Major Clue:

u [tex] (t) = < f_1(t),f_2(t),f_3(t)> [/tex]

v [tex](t) = < g_1(t),g_2(t),g_3(t)> [/tex]

This should be in any standard math text as a formal proof already done for you. Or available online.
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2006
  4. Jan 11, 2006 #3
    Thank you very much, it was a little but powerfull hint for me that helped me solve the problem :)
  5. Jan 11, 2006 #4

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Assuming the basis vectors are constant in time, then writing

[tex]\frac{d}{dt}\left(\epsilon_{ijk}r_{i}u_{j}\vec{e}_{k}\right) [/tex]

and expanding using the Leibniz rule will lead you to the result...

6. Jan 11, 2006 #5
    Daniel, this is way over I think both my and the origional posters heads, but I think for being a grad student, it would serve him well to know your method as well. I have never even heard about this notation for cross product before. Can you work it out and show us the anwser to it, (But try to keep it as simple as possible, so I can at least try to understand whats going on.) Thanks,
  7. Jan 11, 2006 #6

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You could just go back to the calculus definition of derivative