Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A How can quantum mechanics contribute in a Nuclear reactor

1. Jul 3, 2017 #1
    Hi, does treating neutrons as waves make any difference when it comes to micro cross sections ? , does quantum mechanics help more than classical mechanics in nuclear reactor physics ?

Noticing that I am a nuclear engineering student

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 3, 2017 #2

hilbert2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Isn't nuclear fission based on the quantum tunneling of neutrons out of the binding strong force field of a heavy nucleus? Not sure about cross sections/scattering.

4. Jul 3, 2017 #3

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

No; fission isn't the emission of single neutrons, it's the splitting of a nucleus struck by a neutron into two fragments, each of roughly half the size of the original nucleus. (For example, the main fission reaction of U-235 when hit with a neutron is into Ba-139 and Kr-94, plus 3 neutrons.) The best model I'm aware of for fission is the liquid drop model of the nucleus, which basically says that the incoming neutron perturbs the shape of the drop from a sphere into two smaller spheres joined by a narrow "neck": the Coulomb repulsion between the two halves then causes fission. See, for example, here:

http://www.nuclear-power.net/nuclear-power/fission/

This model is basically classical, although there are some underlying quantum effects taken into account.

5. Jul 3, 2017 #4

PeterDonis

2016 Award

See the link I gave in my previous post, and in particular the explanation of the various terms in the semi-empirical mass formula. Some of the terms take quantum effects (such as the Pauli exclusion principle) into account.

6. Jul 3, 2017 #5

PeterDonis

2016 Award