What Background is Needed for a Career in Design Engineering?

• Thread starter Aero51
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Design
In summary, engineering design is a challenging and interdisciplinary field that requires a combination of theoretical and practical skills. It is not a "wishy-washy" subject, as it involves synthesizing state-of-the-art knowledge to solve complex problems. Design engineers typically have advanced degrees and a deep understanding of their specialized field. A typical day for a design engineer involves a mix of computer work, simulations, meetings, and project management. Grad school is a good place to break into the field, with a focus on a specialized but interdisciplinary PhD topic.
Aero51
I have a quick question regarding graduate school. One of my dream's has always been to design aircraft - hence, I would like to focus my career on engineering design. The problem is that I have no idea what type of background a student would need to enter into this type of field. Currently I am going to graduate school for CFD; I understand that some professors research design methodologies, but this seems like a "wishy-washy" subject for a PhD/Masters dissertation. I feel like design is something that you must have a natural ability and can be improved through practice - much like art or music. My question, in short, is what type of background to design engineers typically have before they go into industry? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Aero51 said: