1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Testing How important is FE exam, really?

1. Oct 17, 2007 #1
    Our school requires the students to take FE exam before you graduate. I mean, of course, it would be helpful if you become a licensed engineer, but our school puts it as if you cannot get a job without passing the FE exam, which probably isn't true.

Having that said,

1)How important is FE exam? How would it help getting me a job (I am a computer engineer)?

2)I heard there are two FE exams (FE I, FE II). What are the differences?

3)What are the disadvantages of not taking FE?

Last edited: Oct 17, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2007 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

If one has the opportunity to take the FE, then do so. As one gets into a professional career, it becomes more difficult to find time to do it.

Many jobs in engineering require a PE, and the FE is the first step.

One can get a job without an FE, but having it opens up more opportunities.

My department (Nuc E) encouraged students to do the PE during grad school.

4. Oct 17, 2007 #3
    That certainly is not true. In fact, for computer engineers, a job that requires a PE license is incredibly rare.

I took the FE, but I don't think I'll ever go for my PE because you need to work under someone who has a PE for about three years before you can take the next PE test! I've never met anyone in industry (I'm an EE) that has their PE, so I would actively have to search every company I work at to find someone with a PE and try to work under them.

However, I should mention that grad school counts as experience towards the PE. I think an MS was one or two years out of three, but I don't remember for sure.