How many hours studying for EE major?

In summary, the speaker is a new international student in the USA with an associate degree in Electronics and communication engineering. They are currently taking core courses at a community college and need to decide on a major. They are concerned about the amount of time required for engineering courses and are seeking advice on how to manage their time as a married student. Suggestions include considering a half-load of courses and adjusting as necessary, as well as estimating the amount of study time required for a full load.
nnk4006
Hi all..
I am new here in USA...i have my associate degree from my country in Electronics and communication engineering...
Right now i am taking classes from community college just core courses...now its time to decide Major but i am confuse, so many people tell me that in engineering u have to do hard work up to 14 hours constantly per day but i can not give that much time because i am married...
so anyone tell me that this is true that you have to give 14 to 16 hours per day in this course?
give me your suggestions...

Engineering news on Phys.org
nnk4006 said:
Hi all..
I am new here in USA...i have my associate degree from my country in Electronics and communication engineering...
Right now i am taking classes from community college just core courses...now its time to decide Major but i am confuse, so many people tell me that in engineering u have to do hard work up to 14 hours constantly per day but i can not give that much time because i am married...
so anyone tell me that this is true that you have to give 14 to 16 hours per day in this course?
give me your suggestions...

It would depend on how many classes you are taking and your learning abilities (i.e. how fast you pick up the concepts). 14 to 16 hours seems really high. Are you counting classroom hours and study/homework time?