How to build a function generator

In summary, you would need a 555 timer, a potentiometer, and an opamp to create a square wave generator.
V0ODO0CH1LD
I have to deliver a project for my analog electronics course and I wanted to build a synthesizer (the simplest version possible since I am a total beginner at this). It would basically be a function generator with a knob used to control the frequency (with maybe banana plugs for sound output). How would I go about building this function generator from basic components like capacitors, resistors and diodes?

I read that a triangular wave can be generated by repeatedly charging and discharging a capacitor from a constant current source. How would the simplest version of this work? I have to actually build the project and I don't even know where to start.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I guess the starting point is to build a function generator that generates only triangular waves. Can you point out any resources of tutorials on that?? Something that explains the function of each component on the circuit and all that!

Thanks!

note: disregard the resistor and cap values, you'll have to choose those to suit your needs.

get the data sheet for the MAX038, maxim doesn't sell the chip anymore but if you look around you should be able to find it.

Hint: The integral of a square wave is a triangle wave and the integral of a triangle wave is very close to a sine wave. Biggest problem - amplitude varies with frequency so you would need automatic gain control.

The simplest way to do this is using a 555 timer. The timer signal itself is a sawtooth which is the typical waveform used most often in analog music synthesizers. If you need sine your can filter it.

Okay! Thanks for all the replies! After doing some research I've decided to construct the simple square wave generator shown in this link:

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/electronic/square.html#c2