Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to explain Einstein's Special theory of Relativity.

1. Oct 28, 2012 #1
    Can someone help me with understanding and explaining the Special theory of relativity.

I know the basics (time dilation, the speed of light, ect), just what's left is Lorentz transformation and I'll understand the theory.

And also help with explaining the theory to a friend.

And help is appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 28, 2012 #2
    I am no expert and I am sure some here may be able to explain clearer...

The Lorentz transform is used to relate co-ordinates of one frame of reference K to another frame of reference that is moving with uniform motion relative to K. It was conceived by Einstein to explain the proven fact that velocity of light is constant to all frames regardless of thier motion or the motion of the source of light.

Previously the principle of relativity could not account for this. The lorentz transform basically does away with the concept of absoloute time and absoloute space. Space and time will change in just the right way to allow any observer in any reference frame to measure the speed of light to be c.

Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  4. Oct 28, 2012 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

You can help us by asking specific questions.

5. Oct 28, 2012 #4
    I asked two questions, being; can someone help me understand the theory, and how would I explain this theory to another person.

Better?

6. Oct 28, 2012 #5

Doc Al

Not really. Those are pretty broad questions! Usually answered in book form. Try to ask more narrowly focused questions.

You did ask about the Lorentz Transformation, which is specific enough to get a handle on. Here's a place to start: Lorentz Transformation

7. Oct 28, 2012 #6
    I dont mind getting a long answer, I'd prefer it.

8. Oct 28, 2012 #7

DrGreg

Science Advisor
    Gold Member