Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to find a right RF module for a project?

1. Dec 14, 2015 #1
    I am a product developer but not an electronics engineer. I am doing a cost analysis of a product idea for my company. The product will need something like this....

There will be two small portable devices (A and B) 1 meter apart (not in line of sight since A can be in pocket). Product A will keep pinging product B at regular intervals. When pinged, B will send response to A for that ping. A knows that B is still available.

Now, if we move B away from A (e.g. > 3 meters) and if A pings B and since B is out of range, A will not get response from B. In such case A will sound an alarm.

I know we can do device to device communication using RF modules. But I don't know which module or protocol to use for this.

My questions (Please answer considering that I am not prototyping but actual product for market):

• Which protocol and module to use?
    • Can you point me to any module available in market that I can look into?
    • Since A will be pining B at regular interval, will that module drain battery much? If yes, how much long will battery last approximately?
    • Any existing product in market you can think of that does something similar (pinging at regular intervals)?
    • Do I need a micro controller?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 14, 2015 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Sounds like a good fit for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluetooth_low_energy

:smile:

4. Dec 14, 2015 #3

meBigGuy

Gold Member

Number of issues:

1. What happens when other pingable devices are nearby
    2. How precise do you want the distance
    3. Do you want sender and receiver factory paired? Can they be re-paired to different devices?
    4. Is there any significant data transfer beside the ping.