How to measure output voltage of B200?

In summary, the conversation discusses the process of measuring the power and voltage output from the B200 SDR device using an oscilloscope. The participant shares that they usually use an Oscilloscope Tester Scope Clip Probe to attach the battery's cathode and anode to the oscilloscope, but the B200 only has SMA and BNC connectors and no ground connection. They ask for advice on how to measure the voltage of the device. The conversation also mentions a BNC/TNC adaptor for scope probes and recommends using coax instead of a probe for better accuracy.
Nate Duong
Hi,

I am a new student and trying to to measure the power and voltage output from B200 SDR device (https://www.ettus.com/content/files/b200-b210_spec_sheet.pdf) using oscilloscope (TDS3000 Series: https://www.atecorp.com/ATECorp/media/pdfs/data-sheets/Tektronix-TDS3000_Series_Manual.pdf)

Usually, when I measure the the voltage of the battery or even 5V itself on the oscilloscope, I use the Oscilloscope Tester Scope Clip Probe to attach the cathode and anode of the battery.

But the B200 ettus has only SMA and BNC connector, there is no way connect to the ground.

Does anyone know the way the measure the voltage of this device?

Thank you.

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
The shell of the connector, SMA or BNC, is Ground.

Likes Nate Duong
There is a BNC/TNC adaptor for scope probes. Sometimes it looks like a BNC/TNC connector with no locking ring and sometimes it is merely a cylinder that adapts the tip to the connector.

https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/cal-test-electronics/CT3655/CT3655-ND/5029183
The top silver item in this picture is a shabbier version of the above:
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/teledyne-lecroy/PK001/PK001-ND/4941393