How would I go about getting into the oil/gas industry?

• Thread starter DirtyLeeds
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Industry
In summary: Firstly, do an MEng. Many companies only recruit MEng graduates nowadays.Secondly, your degree discipline isn't particularly important for a many roles in industry, just as long as it's an MEng.Lastly, apply, apply, apply! You don't get anywhere unless you apply. So apply to everywhere that you can. Most of the big oil companies have online applications that you fill in and they get back to you fairly quickly.
DirtyLeeds
I'm currently studying a degree in Materials Science and Engineering at a good University in England. My course is a 3 year BEng but I could change to an MEng if necessary.

I was just wondering what i'd need to do to make myself stand out: What skills could I acquire at Uni to help me out when it comes to applying?

Would I need to do a Masters? If so, what in? What jobs could I get with my current degree?

I realize that I've just asked a lot of questions, so an answer to any at all would be really quite helpful.

Cheers!

Physics news on Phys.org
Start reading some of the trade magazines of the oil and gas industry and get a feel for what they are looking for and where you might find a fit. I think you will find that they employ almost every kind of engineer in some capacity, so the problem is to find some that you like and then find where that fits into there needs.

For example, they do a lot of work in off shore technology with robotics, so if that happened to interest you, you could develop that line and run with it. They certainly do a huge amount with corrosion and other materials related work, so that is wide open. They do lots of machinery related work, so that's another option. Instrumentation is yet another way to go. You need to get familiar with the industry for starters.

OldEngr63 said: