What is the probability that Mike Mouse will be included in the control group?

In summary, the probability that a particular mouse, Mike Mouse, will be included in the control group is 4/9, based on the Hypergeometric Distribution with A=1 (Mike Mouse), B=8 (Other Mice), n=4, and x=1. This was confirmed by another tutor and professor, who also used this method correctly last year for the same problem.
redone632

Homework Statement

Suppose 9 mice are available for a study of a possible carcinogen and 4 of them will form a control group (i.e. will not receive the substance). Assuming that a random sample of 4 mice are selected, what is the probability that a particular mouse, Mike Mouse will be included in the control group?

Homework Equations

Hypergeometric

The Attempt at a Solution

So I'm a part time tutor and a lot of the students are coming to me about this question. The way I have done it is as a Hypergeometric Distribution with A=1 (Mike Mouse) B=8 (Other Mice) n=4 x=1.

(1C1 * 8C3) / 9C4 = .4444

The students have come back and told me that it was wrong and the answer they got from the Professor was.

(4C1 * 5C3) / 9C4 = .3175

I have talked to another tutor (which is also a professor) and he did it the same way as I did. He also said that this happened last year and went to the professor last year and they said that he was right (my answer).

So now that it's come up again, I'm second guessing myself. Any input on which way is right?

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll be choosing Mike Mouse from 4, 4C1. There are 5 left and you must pick the other three mice from that, so 5C3.

The total number of choices is 9C4.

So I think your professor is correct.

rock.freak667 said:
You'll be choosing Mike Mouse from 4, 4C1. There are 5 left and you must pick the other three mice from that, so 5C3.

The total number of choices is 9C4.

So I think your professor is correct.