I got a C. Can I get into Stanford?

• Thread starter blaughli
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Stanford
In summary: I play the violin in a city orchestra and I also organize and lead social events at my school (like game nights and movie nights). I also volunteer for a homeless shelter and I'm the treasurer for my school's tech club. I guess those things could be seen as 'extracurriculars,' but I think they're more important than that. I just want to do things that interest me and make a difference in the world.Yes, I have done research. I have been active in extracurricular activities and leadership positions all throughout high school and college. I've also been involved in CS clubs and have won awards for my work. I am really passionate about technology and I think I would be a
blaughli
I'm a city college student who will someday be trying for a masters in ME or EE at Stanford, MIT, or Berkeley. I already have a bachelors which means I can't go for a second one at these schools (at least Stanford and recently UCB I'm sure of). My bachelor's was in music, and my gpa was 3.0. I just finished my 3rd semester in city college taking hard science/engineering prep courses, and I had a 4.0 up until now. I dropped the ball in an online Circuit Analysis class and I may have earned a C.

My thought is that because I want to master the material I should take this course again, regardless of whether or not my C is erased. This also seems like the best option at this point in the eyes of application readers. So, with the plan of getting into a school the finish my engineering bachelors, or just completing the required coursework at the local state school and then taking GRE and applying for the Masters, what are my chances? Can I turn this into a positive thing, something that woke me up to the realities of engineering study (the truth!), or am I out of the running because of this one C?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes.