I finding the area of a function using integrals and logs

In summary, the problem is that the person is not sure how to solve for x in order to find the volume of the solid formed by rotating the region enclosed by y=e^(3x)+1,y=0,x=0,x=0.7 about the y-axis. They are starting Calc II, which is new to them, and they are not sure what to do. They are lost and need help.
Juche
Here is the problem:

Find the volume of the solid formed by rotating the region enclosed by
y=e^(3x)+1,y=0,x=0,x=0.7 about the y-axis.

What I know is that I am supposed to solve for x since it rotates on the y axis. So I have

y=e^(3x)+1
y-1=e^(3x)
ln(y-1)=3x
ln(y-1)/3=x

Now what? I am not sure how I am supposed to solve this or what I do now. I am starting Calc II so this is new to me and I've never used logs before for this. What do I do, and how does it work for me to solve this?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you know the general formulae for finding the area of volume generated by rotating around an axis?

My understanding is this, it is probably a basic understanding.

Find out the axis it rotates on, then solve for the opposing variable. If it rotates on X-axis, solve for Y, if it rotates on Y solve for X.

If there are two functions find out which function forms the outside of the rotation and which is the inside. The outside function comes first in the subtraction of the two functions.

Square both functions. If you have y=x^2, y=x and it rotates on the x-axis then you get (x^2)^2-(x)^2=x^4-x^2.

Integrate the function(s) to get F(x), and do an F(b)-F(a) calculation.

I have an idea how to do it with simple functions but I have never done it with logs before, so I am lost.

It is simpler than that, I don't know how to explain this very well, I think of it as a matter of an infinite number of circles but although this is my intuitive understanding it is not mathematically rigorous.