How Do I Apply Kirchhoff's Loop Law to Solve an H-Bridge Circuit Problem?

• Thread starter Baioff
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Law Loop
In summary: The student is attempting to solve a circuit using matrices and substitution. He is facing difficulty with the equations and needs help to complete the task.
Baioff
I am a grade 11 student in Canada. I have an exam in 3 days and i cannot figure out how to solve a cricuit with several loops... i have been told that for this specific cricuit i can use Matricies or Substitution. I don't know anything about Matrices and I am having trouble substituting with three equation and three unknows... i have attached a schematic diagram, it is simalar to a wheatstone bridge and is called an H-bridge. could someone please help me solve this...

Attachments

• H-bridge.bmp
    79.3 KB · Views: 574
Physics news on Phys.org
Thread moved to the homework forums. Baioff, one of the rules here on the PF is that on homework/exam questions like this, you must show us your work in order for us to help you. Tell us what you do know about writing the KCL or KVL equations. If you write out the equations, it's pretty easy for us to give you some hints on how to solve a set of 3 linear equations in 3 unknowns (if that's what results).

Ok srry about that

Homework Statement

circuit attached above... Vt, and all resistances will be given

Homework Equations

Matrix algebra ?

The Attempt at a Solution

well i was shown the following by a physics tutor who was only partially knowlegable on the subject. (resistors labled 1-5 1 being top left 2 top right 3 middle 4 bottom left and 5 bottom right)

0=I2R5+I5R3 - I3R4
0=I4R2+I5R3-I3R4
0=I1R5+I5R3+I6R1 +v

I1=I3+I2
I2+I4+I5
I1=-I5+I6+I4+I5
I3=-I5+I6
I4=I1-I6

then...

I5(R3+R4+R5) =I6R5-I4R5
I5R3=I4R2-I6R1
I5R3=I6(-R5 - R1) -I4R5 - V

I think that's right... but if someone could elaborate on how to decide appon the I number and how they relate to the resistors and possibly an easier way of solving this.