Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I need to build an electromagnet to provide 10mN eddy current brake

1. Jul 17, 2015 #1
    Hi I am building a motor tester, for that I need to build a variable load. For which I was planning to use eddy current brake with electromagnet.

Please help me to build a electro magnet which can provide more than 10mNm load to a DC motor with rotating disc of 75mm in a RPM of 6500.

I tried with trial and error methods, as I am not good at solving mathematical expressions.
    case 1. When I tried with a large rod core with 2100turns and 500mA current I was able to load only upto 3mNm. Case 2. when I change the system to two electromagent place at the both side of the disc (1400 turns each and 300mA cureent through both coil) I was able to load upto 9mNm. However as it need to be placed both side I have a space contrain.

So please help me to build a electromagnet which can produce same loading as the case two in a smaller package.

Thanks & regards,
    Anoop

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2015 #2
    What mathematical expressions are you trying to use?

It is not clear what you are trying to do.

4. Jul 17, 2015 #3

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Can you post a photo of your experiment?

5. Jul 17, 2015 #4
    The magnetic flux should go in a circle with air gaps being as small as possible. A U shaped magnet could work.

6. Jul 17, 2015 #5

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Dr Z is right.

My 2 cents(overpriced at that)
    Experiment with a C-clamp (iron one of course)
    gives you a magnetic loop with adjustable air gap.
    Tighten clamp and tack weld that wobbly tip to the screw so it won't flop around.

upload_2015-7-17_12-33-52.png

Last edited: Jul 17, 2015
  7. Jul 17, 2015 #6

Hesch

Gold Member