1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Idea / doubt about the movement of electrons

1. Oct 11, 2017 #1
    Hi.

First, let me introduce myself:
    I m from Brazil, I studied physics a few years ago and I ended up leaving the course, today I work with software development.

I would like to know if you can help me to take a doubt:
    I came up with an idea that an electron could move so fast that it would even get near itself, that would cause its electromagnetic field to push itself up and down causing it to move in waves. This is possible?

If I don't make me clear please respond, my english isn't the best.

Thank you all!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 11, 2017 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF. :smile:
    Sorry, but that does not make sense so far. Can you Upload a sketch of what you are asking about? Electrons moving in antennas can make electromagnetic waves that propagate away from the antenna, if that's what you mean.

4. Oct 11, 2017 #3
    Hello Berkeman, thanks for reply.
    I'm talking about the particle wave duality.
    I made a drawing to try to explain better:

The basic idea that the electron is pushed up and down by itself, as it traverses the circumference around the nucleus so fast that it gets close to itself and its electromagnetic field causes it to behave like a wave.

lo2zHiLRgErFOZt6TUZEnIpIcvu9Mv9RLTe2II-HFL1aXmioXhMv6vSPK6w?width=2351&height=3595&cropmode=none.jpg
    ret-Pbm31rXkXxjfLAl3jpy4tQsUwB07J_wOOeVtfFAV-tI_V6coBeqR8hw?width=2368&height=4208&cropmode=none.jpg

5. Oct 11, 2017 #4

scottdave

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I am not sure what you mean by: it would get near itself.
    An electron in motion will create a magnetic field, but this will be circular, and perpendicular to the direction of motion.