Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm A Beginner: Relativity & The Human Mind

1. Feb 22, 2013 #1
    I am traveling at 50% C in a rocket ship.

My buddy passes me at 51% C in a rocket ship.

Assume my buddy is doing long division, & it's required that he writes down his work on paper.

Let's go off on a tangent here. Relative to our prehistoric ancestors, the human mind today is far more intelligent/advanced. In other words, the human mind can compute things that much faster than it could many years ago.

As I see my buddy fly by, I notice his clock ticking slower than mine. However, he doesn't notice a thing. He's still working on that long division problem just as fast as he would if he were back at home. He just doesn't notice anything different, ...as time itself has slowed down.

Now let's assume it's many (many) years later. Keep in mind at this time, the human mind is much more intelligent advanced than it was in the year 2013. Assume the same scenerio above. Something has changed. You see, my buddy has already finished the long division problem in his head, being so smart. ...but according to relativity, the time it takes for him to write it down physically shouldn't change....

So where's the delay?

Problems: The human mind doesn't physically exhist.

Relative to me, everything is looking pretty dang normal watching my buddy figure out that problem. BUT. When my buddy thought up that answer to his long division, what was going through his head when it was taking him forever to write it down?

Why is the computing speed of the human mind limited? It's not. We are proof. Assuming time itself as gone by at a constant rate, we are MUCH more intelligent than we were thousands of years ago.

So what's that mean? That means that the human mind isn't proportional to time. ...there's no ratio

Another thing to note on: