1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

In severe need of advice for learning Algebra 2

1. Aug 13, 2015 #1
    My situation is that I'm 17, and graduated high school early due to the CHSPE test. The only math I have any real knowledge of is algebra 1, since I forgot geometry and barely got into algebra 2 before I graduated. No books have worked, Gelfand's Algebra frustrated me exceptionally because it was too complicated, Practical Algebra:A Self Teaching Guide was too complicated, No Bull**** Guide To Math And Physics was too complicated, Khan Academy is too broad and keeps bombarding me with stuff from below algebra 1 for some reason. I desperately want to be an astronautical engineer. Are there any other options for self study, will I have to waste some semesters with college classes for basic math? I've gotten an excellent knowledge, memorization and problem solving ability of every other science I've tried to learn, math is the only exception and it's holding me back from more intimately learning everything else.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2015 #2
    I advice you to go through the internet. Go search in Google and find the most simplified explanation in Algebra 2. I also recommend you to practice problem solving so you could apply what you have learned. Don't rush studying the lessons. Take it one by one. If you already understood the lesson, go to the next lesson. If you have questions, feel free to ask questions to PF. Those are only suggestions so yeah...
    Good luck.

-Zeph-

4. Aug 13, 2015 #3

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Congratulations Czig, and welcome to PF :smile: !