INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY vs OPERATIONAL MANGEMENT

In summary, the two degrees have different benefits, but both are important for someone in this career field.
FizixFreak
Hi there everyone! I am posting after on this forum after quite a while...

I am about to make a very important decision regarding my academic career but i am puzzled on which degree would be more beneficial like the title suggests i have the option of "m.sc IT"(mostly concerned with software engineering) and "m.sc information and operational management"...,now i should make this clear that i graduated with a degree in commerce(b.com) so i have no background in software engineering or computer science but i LOVE mathematics...,any form of it(except from geometry of course)and for that reason i think i will go somewhere in this field but the problem with this field is(or at least what i have heard)is that after completing your degree you need to spend a good amount of time in a software house(with little to no pay) so you can polish your skills and only after that you can get a high profile job and because of the fact that i am already 22 years of age and completely broke this really scares the hell out of me i don't mind choosing operational management but i think IT suits me MUCH better and it is also more economical:biggrin:.

I don't live in the US(i am from PAKISTAN)so things might be a little different in terms of course outlines of the our respective countries so i am posting the course outline of m.sc IT
http://www.pucit.edu.pk/index.php/academics/academic-programs/msc-it

And also m.sc operational management as well
http://pu.edu.pk/program/show/6105/C...arial-Sciences

I would be waiting for a quick reply..., thanks in advance:smile:

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Greg Bernhardt said:
Pick which one interests you more. Simple :)

I made the decision now can i get some useful advice for this question...,

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=638758