Integration related to physics doubt

In summary: If your problem had said "a position of x= 10 meters", then your C would have been 10 and your c would have been 10. The fact that they both use the notation 'C' is just a coincidence.
sarvesh0303

Homework Statement

I am a high school student and I am very fond of calculus. I know we get the distance by calculating the area under the v-t graph. But this is my take on another way to get an equation
The original differential equation is
dx/dt=v(t)

multiplying both sides by dt,
dx=v(t)dt

Integrating on both sides,
∫dx=∫v(t)dt

Hence we get
x+c=F(t)+C
where F(t) consists of variables only.
but

x=∫v(t)dt =F(t)+C

so i am getting x+c=x but since c is a constant and not necessarily zero x+c might not be equal to x.

Help! Spending sleepless nights on this problem

Homework Equations

x=∫v(t)dt

dx/dt=v(t)

The Attempt at a Solution

Tried my best. Couldn't reach anywhere.

Physics news on Phys.org
sarvesh0303 said:
Hence we get
x+c=F(t)+C

That's correct.
sarvesh0303 said:
but
x=∫v(t)dt =F(t)+C

Here's where you went wrong. How did x+c become just x? ∫dx=x+c as you indicated in the first quote, so x=∫v(t)dt is not true.
Also, your "c" and "C" both represent the same initial distance in this case, so you can subtract C from both sides to get x=F(t).

First off be careful using F(t) as an arbitrary function as F(t) generally denotes Force as a function of time. Your issue here is that x is being used for two different purposes on the LHS and RHS. On the RHS x denotes the distance traveled due to time (x(t)) and c is the initial starting point. Sum them up and you get the total displacement. However, on the LHS x refers to the total displacement where F(t) is the integral of dx/dt without the constant and c is the constant. The easiest way to see that the equations actually are the same is just evaluate the interior of the integral on the RHS.
i.e dx= v(t) dt = dx

sarvesh0303 said:

Homework Statement