Inverse Kinematics: Understanding the Math Behind Building Virtual Arms and Legs

In summary: So, if I have a rod attached to a ball joint, I can describe the position of the tip of the rod (its end) by a set of coordinates (2 coordinates if you're working on a plane, for instance on a monitor). If the rod is a fixed length then the possible locations (assuming the origin is fixed) are all on the surface of a sphere. So, you actually need only to know the length and one coordinate. (the other coordinate is a function of it).But if you want a "brute force" approach, then read on. First, you
PowerHotmail
Hey guys,

So, I'm new here. And I'm of 13 years of age. I am a programmer in a platform called "ROBLOX". I wanted to create my own Animator within that platform, using Inverse Kinematics. However, searching through the web, everything is just so complicated to me. I don't seem to understand the wide and complicated scope of the vocabulary.

I kind-of understand the concept of Inverse Kinematics. But I don't really understand it overall. The math, and how to calculate it, what it is, how it works, etc. So, I was wondering if any of you could give me a rundown, suited for a 13 year old, like me.

I would be very grateful.
Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
PowerHotmail said:
Hey guys,

So, I'm new here. And I'm of 13 years of age. I am a programmer in a platform called "ROBLOX". I wanted to create my own Animator within that platform, using Inverse Kinematics. However, searching through the web, everything is just so complicated to me. I don't seem to understand the wide and complicated scope of the vocabulary.

I kind-of understand the concept of Inverse Kinematics. But I don't really understand it overall. The math, and how to calculate it, what it is, how it works, etc. So, I was wondering if any of you could give me a rundown, suited for a 13 year old, like me.

I would be very grateful.
Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the PF.