Is Accredited Distance Learning a Viable Option for High School Students?

• Thread starter Pseudo Statistic
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a high school student in Kuwait and is looking for a distance/open-learning institution to fulfill their university requirements. They are wondering if there are any accredited and legitimate online schools that offer advanced courses and are equivalent to a high school diploma. They also ask if it's possible to transfer from a regular high school to a distance learning school mid-year. In response, someone mentions that there are accredited schools, mostly for social sciences, and provides two examples - Walden University and Capella University. However, they note that these schools may be more geared towards graduate programs and their undergraduate programs may not be as reputable.
Pseudo Statistic
Hi,

Right now I'm a high school student in Kuwait. I've been seriously considering finding a distance/open-learning institution to learn from due to my school not satisfying my university's needs. I've been curious as to whether or not there are any good, worthwhile distance learning schools online which are accredited, recognized as legitamite and count as the equivalent of (or perhaps slightly more than the equivalent of, e.g. one that has advanced courses) a high school diploma.
Does anyone know of any? And do these kinds of "schools" allow you to transfer mid-year from a regular high school?

Thanks a lot for any replies.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depending on what you want to study, there are several that are accredited. Mostly social science stuff, but some hard science. However, the better ones seem to be more geared towards grad school. The undergrad programs are a little shady.

Here's the one I work for and our cheif competitor
www.waldenu.edu
www.capella.edu