1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is current flow not equal to electricity?

1. Jul 17, 2011 #1
    Before i start my question , i have to mention that I'm only a beginner for physic and chemistry , if possible , please explain in the way that easier to be understand.

In simple cell , 2 different metals are immersed in an electrolyte and connected to ammeter , the metal which is more electropositive will ionize and released electrons . The flow of electrons through wire is called electricity.

Current flow is in the opposite direction with the electron flow. Therefore can I conclude that current flow is not equal to electricity?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2011 #2

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi
    The word "electricity' has no definite meaning. It's a generic term for that field of study and quantities.
    So you do not need to worry about what is or what isn't 'electricity', if you are trying to be precise. You just need to use the right terms at the right time.