Is FORTRAN still relevant in modern programming?

• Fortran
  • Thread starter Tone L
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Fortran
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of FORTRAN in scientific computation and its advantages and disadvantages compared to other programming languages such as Python, Julia, and C/C++. While FORTRAN is known for its speed and powerful numerical libraries, it is not as popular among younger programmers due to its outdated syntax and lack of flexibility for other types of programming. However, it is still preferred by many scientists and engineers for its ease of use and proven reliability in certain applications. The conversation also mentions the possibility of using a combination of different languages (such as FORTRAN, Python, and Julia) for optimal performance and flexibility in programming.
Tone L
This summer I was a research student and my advisor used fortran (case 1). Two of my professors at my college use fortran (case 2). My friend at BU who is just starting his phd says fortran is huge and I should probably get a grasp on it (case 3).

On the opposite side of the spectrum, my computer science friends at college laugh at the fact of fortran... Someone in my lab during my summer research believed in the power of IDL which I mainly used, and python. I mean is fortran really that powerful? I mean people stick to what they know, and continue to use fortran but if I am proficient at python and for example people in my lab are all using fortran to solve problems I feel like i could easily solve the problems too using python.

Technology news on Phys.org
FORTRAN stands for FORmula TRANslation, if you plan to do only scientific computation then FORTRAN may be a good choice: is in general faster than other compiled languages and because it has long history one can benefit from the long tested (stability, accuracy) numerical libraries.