Is it worth doing EVERY problem in a textbook?

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of working through a calculus textbook for fun and further understanding, specifically focusing on problems that are purely proofs and do not interest the individual. The conversation raises questions about the benefits of skipping over these problems and whether it is necessary to do every single proof in the textbook. The individual expresses their preference for more interesting problems and suggests that they could continue learning about math that interests them instead. The conversation also mentions examples from other physics students and suggests that the individual could jump ahead or skip problems if they choose to.
XcgsdV
I am a freshman Physics major currently working through Apostol's Calculus Volume 1 in my free time, somewhat to further develop my calculus knowledge, but mainly for fun. Apostol's text is proof-based, and as such has a number of problems that are just proofs. As a hopeful future Biophysicist, proving that the area of a polygon with vertices on lattice points (x and y are integers) can be found by A = I + B/2 - 1, where I is the number of lattice points inside the polygon and B is the number of lattice points on the boundary, simply is not interesting to me. I know I am not beholden to doing every single proof laid before me, but for problems like these—that both do not interest me and where I don't see how the result is directly useful to the study of calculus—what am I losing by skipping over them?

Physics news on Phys.org
XcgsdV said:
in my free time, somewhat to further develop my calculus knowledge, but mainly for fun.