Is (nearly) all mathematics addition?

In summary, after observing the math for the past 10 years, it can be seen that everything can be simplified into addition, as shown by examples such as addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, exponents, nth roots, logarithmic functions, trigonometric functions, and even other concepts in mathematics such as geometry, topology, abstract algebra, propositional logic, Fourier analysis, Laplace transforms, differential equations, set theory, and game theory. However, this does not diminish the importance or complexity of other mathematical concepts, as they build upon these basic notions of addition and membership in a set.
cmcraes
So far after observing the math I've been learning for the past 10 years of my school career it seems to me like everything can be simplified into addition. Ill show by example;

Addition: obviously
Subtraction: Addition of negative numbers
Multiplication: Repeated Addition
Division: 1/Multiplication
Exponents: Repeated Multiplication which in turn is repeated addition

Nth roots: Any root can be found using the equation;
(X_g+(a/(x_g)^n-1)/2=x_g2

Where x_g is an initial guess
n is the root you are looking for
A is the number you are rooting
and x_g2 is substituted back into the formula until x_gt (t being in place of some integer) equals u [where u =a/(x_g1)^n-1]
So now
Nthrt(a)=(X_gt+u)/2 when u=x_gt

So now by my definitions above; Although tedious; any real root can be found by addition!

Now since e^x=
lim n-->ifiniti (1+x/n)^n
so
ln(x)=lim n-->ifiniti n(x^(1/n)+1)
So using above definitions and the change of base rule, the log of any real base to any real number can be found by addition as well!

The trigonometric functions can be expanded into a taylor series and found by adding as well.

Is there a function that cannot be broken down into addition?! Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org