Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is (nearly) all mathematics addition?

1. May 16, 2013 #1
    So far after observing the math I've been learning for the past 10 years of my school career it seems to me like everything can be simplified into addition. Ill show by example;

Addition: obviously
    Subtraction: Addition of negative numbers
    Multiplication: Repeated Addition
    Division: 1/Multiplication
    Exponents: Repeated Multiplication which in turn is repeated addition

Nth roots: Any root can be found using the equation;
    (X_g+(a/(x_g)^n-1)/2=x_g2

Where x_g is an initial guess
    n is the root you are looking for
    A is the number you are rooting
    and x_g2 is substituted back into the formula until x_gt (t being in place of some integer) equals u [where u =a/(x_g1)^n-1]
    So now
    Nthrt(a)=(X_gt+u)/2 when u=x_gt

So now by my definitions above; Although tedious; any real root can be found by addition!

Now since e^x=
    lim n-->ifiniti (1+x/n)^n
    so
    ln(x)=lim n-->ifiniti n(x^(1/n)+1)
    So using above definitions and the change of base rule, the log of any real base to any real number can be found by addition as well!

The trigonometric functions can be expanded into a taylor series and found by adding as well.

Is there a function that cannot be broken down into addition?! Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. May 16, 2013 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

You are basically talking about arithmetic, which yes, is pretty much as you describe. This is a small part of math.

4. May 16, 2013 #3
    Logarithmic Functions aren't arithmetic

5. May 16, 2013 #4
    Using first principles to find derivatives can be broken down into addition and algebra!

6. May 16, 2013 #5

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

Break down the definition of compactness of topological spaces down to something that is purely addition.

7. May 16, 2013 #6