Is the Moon's linear momentum p constant?

In summary, the moon's linear momentum and kinetic energy are both constant as long as the orbit is circular. This is because the moon's velocity and mass are constant in a circular orbit, making its linear momentum and kinetic energy constant as well. However, if we consider the moon as part of a larger system, its linear momentum and kinetic energy may not be constant due to external forces acting on it.
Oripmav
Question:

"The moon revolves around the Earth. Is the Moon's linear momentum p constant?(the p is supposed to be in italics and with an arrow over it pointing to the right. It's kinetic energy constant? Assume the orbit is circular."

Being this a concept question and not a math question I am having some trouble visualizing this problem. What exacly should I consider in order to formulate a good explanation? Any help will be STRONGLY appreciated since I have no physics background whatsoever.

Physics news on Phys.org
Linear momentum is a vector function, i.e. it has both direction and magnitude. It depends on the magnitude of the mass of the object moving, the magnitude of the velocity with which the object is moving, and the direction in which the object is moving. If the linear momentum is to be constant, then all three of these must be constant. Here's a question for you, then: is the moon always moving in the same direction?