Is there a future in Engineering

In summary, Travis said that if you have good math and science grades, you will be looked on favorably. You will also have to work on your english skills if you want to find a good job in industry.
phyEngineer
Hello,
I am in my Second year Engineering science student at a local community college. My Mathematics and Science classes are in the A to B+ range, but my English is in the C- to C range. Is there a future in Engineering for me? If so could colleges still take me with low English grades?

The fields of Engineering, I am thinking about are Nuclear, Biomedical, and Aerospace.

Physics news on Phys.org
Math and science are obviously most important in engineering. But a firm grasp on the english language, proper grammar, and comprehendable writing structure are all important. As much as engineering is about solving problems, it is also about conveying those solutions adequately and clearly to various people in different disciplines (sales, management, construction, fabrication, etc).

Poor english skills should not preclude you from getting an engineering degree. But you'll have to work on these skills if you want to find a good job in industry.

Travis_King said:
... But a firm grasp on the english language, proper grammar, and comprehendable writing structure are all important. As much as engineering is about solving problems, it is also about conveying those solutions adequately and clearly to various people in different disciplines...
you'll have to work on these skills if you want to find a good job in industry.

Yes there's a future. Travis said it correctly; you, your ideas, your grades, and ultimately your life, will be vastly improved by developing effective communication skills.