1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there a future in Engineering

1. Dec 5, 2011 #1
    Hello,
    I am in my Second year Engineering science student at a local community college. My Mathematics and Science classes are in the A to B+ range, but my English is in the C- to C range. Is there a future in Engineering for me? If so could colleges still take me with low English grades?

The fields of Engineering, I am thinking about are Nuclear, Biomedical, and Aerospace.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 5, 2011 #2
    Math and science are obviously most important in engineering. But a firm grasp on the english language, proper grammar, and comprehendable writing structure are all important. As much as engineering is about solving problems, it is also about conveying those solutions adequately and clearly to various people in different disciplines (sales, management, construction, fabrication, etc).

Poor english skills should not preclude you from getting an engineering degree. But you'll have to work on these skills if you want to find a good job in industry.

4. Dec 5, 2011 #3
    Yes theres a future. Travis said it correctly; you, your ideas, your grades, and ultimately your life, will be vastly improved by developing effective communication skills.

5. Dec 5, 2011 #4
    Thank You, I have very long road ahead. My first year of college I was very lazy, then over the summer I realize that in order to get get through life I need to become book smart and work hard. Right now my GPA is on the low(because I would go to class, then I did not review the class notes. Now look back at what happen I think back to my first year of college was 13tth grade for me) but you guys think as I continue to get A's and B's my GPA will climb?