Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Join the cisco courses so i can get a certification

1. May 8, 2007 #1
    hi i am planning to join the cisco courses so i can get a certification as soon as i can...i am currently studying electrical engineering and i finished my 200 courses ..so my question is can i get a permanent job after getting my cisco certification until i graduate ... and what kind of job...thank you

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2007 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I believe that the Cisco classes certify you to be an installer of their routers and other equipment. I would think that you could get a technician-level job with the Cisco certification. In the info for their classes, Cisco must give some indication of what companies would be potential employers -- can you contact them to see if they are hiring? Check their websites under the "Employment" pages to see what jobs they have open at the moment.

4. May 9, 2007 #3

Evo

Cisco certifications are nice to have if you plan to work in IT. Since CISCO is the most widely used routers, switches, etc.. for data and IP networks, they are well worth the effort to get. Employers are willing to pay more if you are certified, if they need someone certified. A lot of small companies can't afford CISCO certified techs on their payroll and will hire a tech on an "as needed" basis from a company that outsources. Depending on what you want to do, there are different certifications.

5. May 9, 2007 #4