Just a question about calculating Killing vectors

• Thread starter BasharTeg
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Vectors
In summary, the concept of Killing vectors is a mathematical tool used to describe symmetries in a given space. It involves solving a set of partial differential equations known as the Killing equations and is important in various areas of physics. However, they can only be defined in certain types of spaces and it is possible to have more than one Killing vector in a space.
BasharTeg

Homework Statement

I am new to the whole GR concept so I just would like to know if what I did is correct or utterly ******** (and if so, why).
I have to find all Killing Vectors to a given metric (1) using equation (2). (2) leads to 3 partial differential equations which I used to calculate them.

Homework Equations

(1) [tex] ds^2=-dt^2 +dx^2 [/tex]

(2) [tex]L_{\xi}g_{\mu \nu}=\xi^{\alpha}\partial_{\alpha}g_{\mu \nu}+g_{\mu \alpha}\partial_{\nu}\xi^{\alpha}+g_{\alpha \nu}\partial_{\mu}\xi^{\alpha}=0[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

I used equation to solve the three equations [tex]L _\xi g_{tt}=0[/tex], [tex]L _\xi g_{xx}=0[/tex] & [tex]L _\xi g_{tx}=0[/tex].
That leads to

[tex]\partial_t \xi^t=0[/tex]
[tex]\partial_x \xi^x=0[/tex]
[tex]\partial_t \xi^x=\partial_x \xi^t[/tex]

the first 2 lead to

[tex]\xi^t=f(x)[/tex]
[tex]\xi^x=g(t)[/tex]

and inserting that into the last equation shows that this one has to be equal to a constant since you can completely separate the x and t depention. So with integration I get:

[tex]\xi^x=g(t)=At+B[/tex]
[tex]\xi^t=f(x)=Ax+C[/tex]

So I have 3 constants and the solution:

[tex]\xi=A \binom{t}{x} + B \binom{0}{1}+C\binom{1}{0}[/tex]

and therefore those 3 vectors are the 3 linear independant Killing vectors.
Is that correct?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there,