1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I KiloNewton/Pound foot of thrust into Horsepower units

1. Aug 23, 2018 #1
    Hi,
    I am currently studying aviation engine outputs and to make my study linear in comparative analysis with standard Automotive engines I need some expert help.
    Can anyone help me drive precise equations to convert:
    1. Engine thrust in Kilo Newton into Horse Power and Watts
    2. Engine thrust in Pound foot into Horse power and Watts
    3. Watts into Horse Power.
    Seems very basic conversion yet I am struggling to derive precise equations for these statement queries.
    Would be great if someone can help me out in this.
    Thanks
    Arjun

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 23, 2018 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2017 Award

4. Aug 23, 2018 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Thrust and power are different quantities and can't be directly related. You will need to know more about the propulsion system to find the power at a given thrust. Are we talking jets or propellers?

Also, pound-foot is not a unit of thrust...

5. Aug 23, 2018 #4
    An obvious observation. Google as an introductory ideation tool is providing extremely complex correlations while I require very basic yet elemental overview. Perhaps I answered your question now can you help solve mine.

6. Aug 23, 2018 #5
    Jets. On wikipedia in design spec of jet engines, the output efficiency is described in pound foot. Is it not the correct denotion? Also aint the horse power and shaft horse power same notions to describe engine output.

7. Aug 23, 2018 #6

russ_watters

I don't see it, can you link/quote the article you are reading please.
    They are, but jet engines don't have an output shaft....do you mean turboprop/turboshaft engines?

8. Aug 23, 2018 #7