1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for a good physics book for an 8th grader

1. Oct 6, 2017 #1
    My son, who had been into biology and paleontology throughout middle school, is now veering suddenly towards physics. I've been bombarded with questions like "why do hot objects radiate light" and "what is electromagnetic radiation" and so on. Being an electrical engineer, I can handle most of these questions, or look up what I cannot, but it would be nice to buy him a book (or 5) for his upcoming birthday.

Can you recommend any good books that he can handle? Obviously, the focus should be on concepts, rather than equations at this stage, but we did talk about the relationship between energy and frequency, and I showed him what Plank's constant is and so on.

Subjects could be varied - I'm thinking thermodynamics and heat, atomic/quantum theory, and electricity/magetism could be topics that are accessible with the right treatment.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2017 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Jewel Walker wrote a book some time ago called the Flying Circus Of Physics that had explanations like this.

http://www.flyingcircusofphysics.com/

There is the Benjamin Crowell free downloadable book on Conceptual Physics that is geared for linreral arts majors but may be beyond your sons reading level. But hey it’s free and he’s got other books at his website www.lightandmatter.com

Barnes and Noble usually has bargain books on physics like Science 1001 and Physics in Minutes and Physics in a 100 Numbers

And there are DK books on Science with lots of cool illustrations and their Universe book.

4. Oct 7, 2017 #3

ISamson

Gold Member

Simple concepts can be learned through good documentaries.
    Pearson make quite interesting textbooks.