Machine learning as a career (in India or abroad)

In summary, the individual is interested in pursuing a PhD in machine learning, but has concerns about their background in mathematics and programming. They are specifically interested in using machine learning for automatic music composition and classification. The expert recommends having a strong background in statistics and learning C and C++ for this field. They also advise being able to read and modify code to effectively use machine learning tools.
dexterdev
Hi all,
I recently got very interested in machine learning and neural networks etc. Although I am having a taste for mathematics , I haven't rigorously learned any mathematics course because my background is electronics engineering (masters level). And also I am not a good C or Java programmer. My basic doubts are :

1. Is heavy math prerequisites needed for me to do a Phd in machine learning? (Or can the required math can be learn from phd course work itself)

2. Should I require great programming skills in C / C++ / Java / Python etc for machine learning? (What I can handle at the moment is Matlab or Octave etc)

My some of the research dreams is to work on automatic music composition, classification etc.
Please guide me in this area.

-Devanand T

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey dexterdev.

With regard to automatic music composition, you should take a look at applied probability models like markov and hidden markov models.

As for machine learning, you should (in my opinion) get a decent statistics background so that you understand what is going on with things like naive Bayes, neural networks, and other classifications based on statistical models.

You will also need to read code at some point and take other peoples code to compile. If you don't know how to program then things are going to be difficult.