Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Making a battery cigarette lighter

1. Oct 7, 2012 #1
    I read an article in prison inventions and was impressed by some of the things the inmates MacGyvered. A very simple invention I saw though was a cigarette lighter made from a battery:
    prison-battery-lighter.jpg
    I have an understanding of basic electronics theory but I have very little practical experience. I can see a piece of thin wire connected to the insulated copper wire, obviously thats the heating element but what material would you say that is? Am I right in assuming that a material for a heating element needs to be far less conductive than conductive metals like copper or aluminum?

I did an experiment in which I made a broken circuit with some aluminum foil. I completed the circuit with a piece of tissue paper (a single width) and was expected the tissue to go on fire but it didn't. I know tissue is completely non conductive but I thought that 1.5V would overcome the resistance the tissue is about a micrometer wide. I accidentally completed the circuit at one point and I was holding the foil to each terminal with fingers and I rapidly felt a burning sensation on my fingers so I know the battery has voltage in it. Why didn't the tissue ignite?

Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2012 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Re: Making a battery lighter

Well, less conductive than a normal sized wire, yes, but one COULD achieve that with a REALLY thin strand of copper. Of course it would likely melt immediately. But yes, your basic thought is correct.

Why would you expect even thin tissue to conduct electricity at 1.5 volts? If you had maybe a molecule's thickness, yes, or if you had enough voltage to overcome the resistance, yes (although in that case I could expect a spark, not real conduction)

4. Oct 8, 2012 #3