Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Making a program to convert K(1+cos(nQ-phi)) to a power series

1. Jun 22, 2012 #1
    Hi all !!

I am a summer trainee and am currently making (modifying: I am changing the way the program takes input) a program in Fortran, and my math is a little shaky.
    What I have is an input file with 3 parameters in it for the equation (which is the equation for calculating torsional potential):

K (1+cos(nQ-phi))

The parameters given to me are: K, n and phi.

Now the program takes 7 parameters for this equation which are the prefactors for the corresponding power series (it does it that way because calculating double differential is easier then).
    So, I have to convert the given 3 parameters to the 7 parameters that the programs wants.
    How do I do that?

I looked at the taylor series expansion on wikipedia, but I am not sure what I should expand this against. Is power series = maclaurin series? So I have to expand this around a=0?

Thanks !!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 22, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey garbageij and welcome to the forums.

The major use for having different points to expand around in taylor series relates to having convergence properties in some neighborhood of the point you are expanding around.

If you know the function is defined everywhere, converges everywhere and is differentiable everywhere, then you can use any point you want.

In terms of the neighbourhood, the reason why people might want to use different points of expansion is because you may want to get an approximation to a point 'close' to the one you are expanding around and because it's close, a lot of the derivative terms (especially the higher ones) can be ignored to give a good approximation.