Mass doesn not effect speed of dropped objects

• Thread starter JeepinBob
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mass Speed
In summary, Galileo proved that objects of different masses fall at the same rate due to the force of gravity being a function of mass and distance. This is determined by the universal law of gravitation and can be seen by equating the forces acting on the two objects. However, in practical experiments, air resistance may affect the time it takes for objects to reach the ground due to their different sizes and masses. Ultimately, this all depends on the relative mass and acceleration of the objects.
JeepinBob
Okay I am no physics pro, but Galileo claimed/proved that two objects of differing mass will fall at the same rate/speed.

As I understand the force of gravity is a function of mass and distance. There is gravitational pull between all objects and this force is determined by the mass of the objects and their distance from each other.

If I understand this then gravitational pull would be greater on an object of greater mass. Now I can see why Galileo's tests showed no difference as the the difference in mass of any two objects he tested would be insignificant compared to the mass of the earth.

What am I missing here?

Thanks for your help and please don't get too technical.

Physics news on Phys.org