Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Masters degree in America

1. Dec 20, 2009 #1

USI

I'm in my 2nd year of a 3year BSc Physics course in the UK. I was wondering whether it would be financially faesible to study for a masters in the US? What sort of financial support is available and how many years does a typical Physics masters take?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2009 #2
    Depends on the school, but even the public ones have stiff international student fees. There's very little in the way of scholarships or fellowships for masters work, as most of them are geared towards phd candidates, and the few that aren't tend to require US citizenship. Research the schools you want to go to, and do some searches, but look locally too. A masters in physics takes about 1-2 years, depending on the school.

4. Dec 22, 2009 #3

USI

okay, thanks for the info. So basically it's unlikely i'll get a scholarship. That means i'll have to pay for my tuition fees in full, which is how much money exactly?

5. Dec 22, 2009 #4
    the fees will vary by school but something you might look into is going for a phd and they will pay you. then if you wanted you could stop after you'd received your masters

6. Dec 22, 2009 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  7. Dec 22, 2009 #6

USI

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  8. Dec 22, 2009 #7
    It's rather slimey and not encouraged by academic departments - but there's nothing really stopping you from doing it.

9. Dec 22, 2009 #8

USI

Hmm, well I don't mind being slimey. But i'm still confused as to how this will actually help my fees? The University of South Carolina's fees that were linked to by Jbell seem to be 10K a year for graduates - regardless of whether you're doing a PHD or Masters?

10. Dec 22, 2009 #9