1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculus "Mathematics" book for revising/studying

1. Dec 17, 2017 #1
    Hi,

I've taken calculus during my engineering degree (that I'm still attending) two years ago. At that time I didn't realize the importance of calculus (and also linear algebra) so I studied it superficially. I think I'm quite good though because I had to use my calculus knowledge in all the other courses, but but I was sticking to the essential minimum of knowledge. Recently I got very interested in physics so I started studying more and this implied revising my calculus skills. I think I improved a lot in calculus/algebra in the last months but I still find it terribly boring (my fault I know). I was wondering if some of you have any suggestion for a book that will help me revise and maybe go further that is kind of "fun" (with examples and applications) so that I can read it/study in the free time. "Calculus for the practical man" is very much what I was looking for but it is a bit under my level of skill. I read I few pages and I don't think I'm going to get much out it.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 17, 2017 #2

Wrichik Basu

Gold Member

I was recommended Apostol's Calculus here. Later, I heard several seniors and professors disapprove of it as overrated, which is why I didn't go through it, though I have both the volumes.

Another book is by Spivak, but I couldn't buy it because of high cost.

4. Dec 17, 2017 #3
    Thank you! Did a quick research and I probably prefer the one by Spivak.
    ... And that's the problem... :sorry:

I think I'm going to stick around a little longer :confused:

5. Dec 17, 2017 #4

Wrichik Basu

Gold Member

You should. There are others who can recommend less costly books.