Math Books for Hobbyists: Boost Interest & Attention

In summary, the conversation is about the person's interest in studying math as a hobby and their struggle with getting stuck on tough problems. They mention a previous successful experience with Paul Dawkin's online textbooks and ask for recommendations for similar books in other areas such as Discrete Maths, Linear Algebra, complex analysis, and PDE. The other person provides several suggestions for textbooks in these areas, with a focus on those with many solved examples or solution manuals. They also advise the person to fully complete and understand these books before attempting more advanced topics.
SamitC
I am studying maths out of hobby. I feel sometimes that I can not move ahead because I get stuck with tough problems. Even after I move ahead, when i come back after quite some time, i get stuck with the same problems. Sometimes it is frustrating. And my interest and attention levels are going down.

Earlier, while learning calculus, i referred Paul Dawkin's online textbooks. There were no exercises but a good number (not too many) of solved examples selected in a very methodical manner for understanding. The flow was excellent. I could finish the courses and it helped me to understand each chapters and overall picture very well. It worked for me. And most importantly - it kept my interest and attention increasing. With that knowledge I successfully attempted solving many exercises from various sources.

I am looking for similar types of books in other areas like Discrete Maths, Linear Algebra, complex analysis, PDE etc.
Can you pls. help me with the name of those books (online or paper books) in case you are aware of?
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I would actually work through a real Calculus textbook. I like Moise: Calculus. It is a between Spivak and Thomas textbook. Another book I like is Thomas: Calculus with Analytical Geometry 3rd ed.