Mathematics major for Microbiology

In summary, the writer is a rising sophomore with a major in microbiology seeking advice on double majoring in mathematics. They are interested in number theory and linear differential equations, but have been discouraged by others who suggest that an applied mathematics or statistics program would be more beneficial for their microbiology studies. The writer is questioning whether they should pursue a double major or focus on specific math courses that would be applicable to their research in virology. They are also considering the idea of picking up relevant math knowledge as needed rather than pursuing a full double major.
bacte2013
Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with a major in microbiology. I wrote this post to seek out the advice from you in terms of double majoring with the mathematics. Although my primary interest is on the microbiology (especially the virology), I am also deeply interested in the fields of number theory and linear differential equations; since my interest also lies in the pure mathematics, I was thinking about doing double majors in both microbiology and mathematics. However, several of my research lab friends and upper-class students told me that the best mathematical program that correlates well with the microbiology is either an applied mathematics or a statistics. They discouraged me about majoring in a mathematics. Should I double majors in a microbiology and mathematics or statistics? My impression is that the applied mathematics is not hard to learn once I have the strong knowledge in a pure mathematics, since the applied math basically originates from the ideas of pure math (please correct me if I am wrong).

Fore more information, I have been working in the virology lab that focuses on the mathematical modeling and genetic analysis of the influenza viruses and HIV; mathematical modeling requires a huge knowledge in a vector calculus, linear algebra, and geometry.

I look forward to your advice!