Mathematics necessary for relativity, quantum mechanics, etc?

In summary: This can be quite challenging, but there are many resources available to help. In summary, if you are interested in understanding Einstein's theory of relativity, quantum mechanics, and the work of famous physicists like Heisenberg, Dirac, and Einstein, it is recommended that you read modern presentations rather than the original papers. It is also important to have a solid understanding of calculus, linear algebra, and functions of multiple variables. Differential geometry, vector and tensor analysis, and partial differential equations are also essential for a deeper understanding of these subjects. It is recommended to supplement your studies with books like Lang, Axler, Schutz, Taylor & Wheeler, and Moore. Isham and Ballentine are also good resources for quantum mechanics. However, an
lesdavies123
Hi,

First of all, I am an undergraduate Chemistry student, but who is also very interested in various areas of science (most actually :P), but like many other people I am especially curious about Einstein's theory of relativity, quantum mechanics and I especially would like to be able to read the papers of the famous physicists like Heisenberg, Dirac and Einstein and understand the mathematics of their theories in depth. As you may know, studies in Chemistry are disappointingly spare in mathematics courses (pretty basic calculus and linear algebra), so as of next term I'm taking extra math classes for the heck of it, but I want to start as early in my math studies as possible (anxious to start) so can you guys tell me what branches of mathematics I'm missing, that I should study. Book suggestions for theses subjects would also be very appreciated. Thank you for your answers!

Physics news on Phys.org