1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Matlab: Solving two second order differential equations

1. Dec 17, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Write a function and solver for the chaotic motion of stars in a galaxy

Initial conditions:

x at time zero = 0
    velocity of x at time zero = 0.3
    y at time zero = 0
    velocity of y at time zero = 0

Time period 2 to 200 with an interval od 0.02

2. Relevant equations

This gives rise to the equations:

d^2x/dt^2= -x-2xy;

d^2y/dt^2= -y-x^2+y^2.

And this gives rise to the four first-order equations

dx/dt=velocity of x

dvelocity of y/dt = -x -2xy

dy/dt = velocity of y

dvelocity of y/dt = -y=x^2+y^2

3. The attempt at a solution

This is my first time learning matlab and all the examples we were shown until now dealt with first-ODEs. I've made lots and lots of attempts at the solution, all coming up with all kinds of errors like undefined variables on Matlab. Basically my problem is that I can't figure out how to structure the function and solver for so many different terms.

One hopeless attempt was:

velocity of x to be Vx
    x to be x
    velocity of y to be Vy
    y to be y

Is it supposed to look like:

function q=func(t,x,y)
    q=[Vx; -x-2*x*y; Vy; -x^2+y^2]

And the solver is

I'm so confused on so many points. I don't think [x,y]=ode45(...) is right, but I don't know if it should be [t,x], [t.y] or whatever. Likewise, I know I'm meant to plot (x,y) for different time intervals, so do write plot(t,x,y)? I don't even know what [] is supposed to be for, only that it's in the notes and all the other examples I can find.