Moisture sensors - do they exist

• Thread starter speedobreedo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sensors
In summary: RFID's are a possibility, but I'm not sure if they are the right size or if they would be detectable by humans.
speedobreedo
This is a complete newbie type question as I am certainly not an electrical engineer.
Are there such things as microchips or RFID's that detect moisture? I'm thinking of things like sweat in humans. Does anyone have any ideas?
Thanks, I appreciate any comments

Engineering news on Phys.org
speedobreedo said:
This is a complete newbie type question as I am certainly not an electrical engineer.
Are there such things as microchips or RFID's that detect moisture? I'm thinking of things like sweat in humans. Does anyone have any ideas?
Thanks, I appreciate any comments

Welcome to the PF.

Yes, there are all kinds of sensors that deal with humidity and moisture. What is the exact application?

Really for bodily fluids e.g sweat, to be affixed into clothing to see where humans sweat the most under certain conditions. I know that's broad but really looking into a small unobtrusive sensor that can be sewn into clothing
Thanks

speedobreedo said:
Really for bodily fluids e.g sweat, to be affixed into clothing to see where humans sweat the most under certain conditions. I know that's broad but really looking into a small unobtrusive sensor that can be sewn into clothing
Thanks

You could probably do it reasonably with resistance measurements, since sweat is conductive. You would need to be sure to design the system in accordance with human contact measurement safety standards, like UL 544.

Could you just do it with some chemical means instead? Like some benign chemical that you can put into a garment that changes color based on how much sweat there is...