Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mom and Dad, you belong together

1. Jul 6, 2005 #1
    My mom now is already 53 years old, living in Malaysia.
    i am now a student in japan, 21 years old. My dad died when i was 8.

My mom now falls in love with a 46 year-old American man, an achitect for a construction company in california.

She met him on her business trip to America. I know she loves him already but she keeps saying she doesn't. How can she runs away from what her heart tells her ?
    I also find both are a very well-matched couple, since everything they say, everything they plan and even in writing articles for business archives are all perfectly matched.

What do you think i should advise my mother for her another-step-to-another-happiness. Everybody lies about having happiness, right ?

Thank you....

Last edited: Jul 6, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2005 #2
    I had a similar scenario, but at a much earlier age. I just told everyone they were already married. It got the message across to them and, probably more out of sheer embarassment, they then tied the knot. However, thinking back, I don't know whether it was a good or a bad thing. I don't think marriage necessarily leads to bliss unless you have a particular neurosis about having to be married. If they don't, then the issue here seems to be that your mother has difficulty admitting to herself that she's in love. I don't know what to say on that, but perhaps instigating environments where they might get caught up in the moment? Romantic movies, candle-lit dinners, that kind of thing? Of course, if you're wrong about it, you will come across as an annoying meddler.