Need Advice: 21 Y.O., Struggling with Depression & Life Choices

• Other
  • Thread starter Logical Dog
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Need advice
In summary, the person wrote that they had lost one parent, had a bad relationship, and failed many subjects in college. They were diagnosed with bipolar disorder and failed most of the subjects in their first semester of university, except for math. They want to continue their education and pass the subjects in order to have a job and have a chance to pursue a career in mathematics or logic.
Logical Dog
Hello

I posted here because I needed some advice from people who are doing better or have experience. So, I am 21 and enrolled in a computer/electrical engineering and computer science program. My first semester wasn’t good. I only passed 1/3 subjects, I studied only two days before the exams. Mainly because, I feel I had serious depression/distraction and was paralyzed with the reality of my life, I think I wanted to keep living in a dream world because the reality (or real life) is too harsh or too bad. I’ve seen this in others and maybe it’s a self defense mechanism or something, either way the cost of ignoring it is greater than dealing with it.

I have lost one parent 7 years ago, and soon after my father became disabled and had severe health issues too. He was not able to work since then and is now medically retired. In the meantime I finished high school late as I did not attend for some time (finished at 19) due to some reasons which don't even make sense now (!), in between all this I had a bad relationship which I allowed to affect me to the extent that left me very sad and depressed, along with my normal level of sadness and doom (I had no idea what the future held and never made any plans :/)