Need help with Dirac Equation

In summary: In other words, the E>0 and E<0 cases come out of the algebra in an equivalent way, which is what we should expect physically. (You can verify that the LHS and RHS expressions are the same when you plug in ##E_p>0## or ##E_p<0##. Hint: the ##\gamma^0## matrix is ##\beta##, and ##\beta^2## is the identity matrix.)Can someone help me or point me in the right direction cause this is my first time learning this. Thanks a lot!You are on the right track! Keep studying and practicing, and don't be afraid to ask for help or clarification when needed. Good luck!
TimeRip496
I just started learning this so I am a bit lost. This is where I am lost http://www.nyu.edu/classes/tuckerman/quant.mech/lectures/lecture_7/node1.html .

Why when E>0, we use $$\phi_p=
\begin{pmatrix}
1 \\
0 \\
\end{pmatrix}
$$ or $$
\begin{pmatrix}
0 \\
1 \\
\end{pmatrix}
$$

while when E<0, we use this instead
$$x_p=
\begin{pmatrix}
1 \\
0 \\
\end{pmatrix}
$$ or $$
\begin{pmatrix}
0 \\
1 \\
\end{pmatrix}
$$
where ∅p is the upper component while xp is the lower component of the bispinor in Dirac equation.
Can we do it the other way round or
$$\phi_p=
\begin{pmatrix}
1 \\
0 \\
0 \\
0 \\
\end{pmatrix}
...$$ instead?Secondly, how did the author convert $$\phi_p = \frac{c \sigma .p}{E_p -mc^2}x_p=?=\frac{-c \sigma .p}{|E_p| +mc^2}x_p$$? Does the mod sign means anything?

Can someone help me or point me in the right direction cause this is my first time learning this. Thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
TimeRip496 said:
Why when E>0, we use

$$\phi_p= \begin{pmatrix}

1 \\

0 \\

\end{pmatrix}
or
\begin{pmatrix}

0 \\

1 \\

\end{pmatrix}
$$
while when E<0, we use this instead
$$\chi_p=\begin{pmatrix}

1 \\

0 \\

\end{pmatrix}
or
\begin{pmatrix}

0 \\

1 \\

\end{pmatrix}
$$

where ∅p is the upper component while xp is the lower component of the bispinor in Dirac equation.

Can we do it the other way round ... ?